Overview

 

Peace, mercy and blessings of God,

 

Hello and welcome to the Department of Physics at King Khalid University in Abha city in the foothills of the Asir region in the southwestern part of the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia at an altitude of 2270 m above sea level.

 

The Department of Physics was established in 1396 H as one of the Departments of the College of Education, King Saud University branch in Abha. The first graduates graduated in 1400–1401 H. When King Khalid University was established in the academic year 1419–1420 H the Department of Physics has become a part of the Faculty of Science at King Khalid University departments. Many students have graduated in the Department since its inception and joined various government or private jobs.

 

Anticipating the important role of physics in life and in society the Department of Physics was established in 1396 H to teach and qualify students to play their role in society in the field of teaching, engineering or industry or other areas of life. The Department students are studying at the university level that will last four years. Students study 130 credit hours and receives a Bachelor of Science. There is an increasing need for physics graduates to enroll in various National Industrial companies and educational institutes such as the Royal Commission of Jubail and Yanbu. Moreover, there are great opportunities for students to continue their higher studies either in the department or through internal or external scholarship. Students can also apply to university to continue their study for master's degree in the department where the department offers master's degree in physics where student study specialized courses also conduct a thesis.

 

The Department has an outstanding group of more than 30 faculty members. The department encourage excellent teaching and research. The Department organizes organizes a program of seminars every two weeks through the department faculty members and visiting professors from outside the university to exchange scientific expertise and coordination of scientific communication in the fields of physics. Because of these efforts it has resulted in the emergence of many good research projects for faculty members published in international prestigious journals. The Department encourages fruitful cooperation between the department and the physics departments at some of the local and international universities. This resulted in research collaboration, exchange of experiences through seminars and workshops and meetings in various of physics. The Department also encourages students to develop scientific and research skills and develop their ability to innovate through research they perform in the department which is discussed in the seminar program department.

 

The Department has established a number of educational laboratories which are used in the teaching of students benefiting department students and university students of medical and engineering disciplines and other department. The Department includes the following educational laboratories:

  1. Electricity Laboratory

  2. Electronics Laboratory

  3. General Physics Laboratory

  4. Heat and Mechanics Laboratory

  5. Light Laboratory

  6. Modern Physics and Atomic Physics Laboratory

  7. Nuclear Physics Laboratory

  8. Solid State Physics Laboratory.

 

The Department also includes a number of research laboratories, namely:

  1. Advanced Functional Materials and Optoelectronics Laboratory (AFMOL)

  2. Electrical Measurements Laboratory (EML)

  3. Optical and Photoelectronic Measurements Laboratory (OPML)

  4. Samples Preparation Laboratory (SPL)

  5. Solid State Structure and Thermal Analysis Laboratory (SSSTAL)

  6. Thin Films Deposition and Nanostructures Laboratory (TFDNL).

 

In addition, the Department has Computer Lab for the benefit of students and researchers. There is also a small library specialized books that complement the Central University Library. In addition, the Saudi Physical Society has been established in the Department, which brings together those interested in the physical sciences in Saudi Arabia, to achieve scientific communication and to create opportunities for scientific and research collaboration. After this quick overview of the department, we hope you will find this site useful and informative. Hello again and we wish you a good time between these pages.

 

Department Chair

نبذة عن القسم

 

السلام عليكم ورحمة الله وبركاته،

 

ومرحباً بكم في قسم الفيزياء بجامعة الملك خالد في مدينة أبها الواقعة على سفوح منطقة عسير في الجزء الجنوبي الغربي من المملكة العربية السعودية على ارتفاع 2270 م فوق سطح البحر.

 

أنشأ قسم الفيزياء عام 1396 للهجرة كأحد أقسام كلية التربية التي كانت تشكل فرع جامعة الملك سعود في أبها. وقد تخرجت أول دفعة من هذا القسم عام 1400–1401 للهجرة. وعندما تأسست جامعة الملك خالد في العام الدراسي 1419–1420 للهجرة أصبح قسم الفيزياء قسماً من أقسام كلية العلوم بجامعة الملك خالد. وقد تخرج في هذا القسم منذ إنشائه عدد كبير من الطلاب الذين التحقوا بمختلف الوظائف الحكومية أو الخاصة.

 

وإدراكاً لدور الفيزياء في الحياة وفي المجتمع فقد أنشأ قسم الفيزياء عام 1396 للهجرة ليقوم بالدور المرتقب منه في تدريس الأجيال والناشئة المعارف والمفاهيم التي يحتاجها الطالب ليقوم بدوره في المجتمع في مجال التدريس أو الهندسة أو الصناعة أو غيرها من مجالات الحياة المختلفة. وطلاب القسم يدرسون في المرحلة الجامعية التي تستمر أربع سنوات يدرس الطالب فيها 130 ساعة معتمدة ويحصل الطالب على بكالوريوس العلوم، يستطيع المتخرجون بعدها الالتحاق بإحدى الوظائف المتاحة: حيث يستطيع المتخرج بسهولة الالتحاق بسلك التعليم حيث تزداد الحاجة إلى مدرسي الفيزياء، كما يستطيع المتخرج أن يلتحق بإحدى الشركات الوطنية الصناعية مثل الهيئة الملكية في الجبيل وينبع، كما يستطيع المتخرج أن يلتحق بالسلك العسكري. علاوة على ذلك فهناك فرص كبيرة للطلاب المبرزين في مواصلة دراساتهم العليا إما في القسم أو عن طريق الابتعاث الداخلي أو الخارجي. كما يمكن لطلاب القسم أو الجامعات الأخرى مواصلة دراسة لمرحلة الماجستير في القسم حيث يقدم القسم درجة الماجستير في الفيزياء يدرس الطالب خلالها عدداً من المقررات الدراسية كما يقدم رسالة علمية.

 

ويقوم بالتدريس في المرحلة الجامعية والماجستير نخبة من هيئة تدريس يصل عددها إلى أكثر من 30 عضواً. ويسعى القسم إلى إيجاد خطة متوازنة تجمع بين مهمة التدريس وبين الجانب البحثي. حيث يولي القسم أهمية قصوى للبحث العلمي النظري والتطبيقي كجزء من مهمة عضو هيئة التدريس والقسم بشكل عام. حيث ينظم القسم برنامجاً للندوات كل أسبوعين يقدمها أعضاء هيئة التدريس بالقسم وأساتذة زائرون من خارج الجامعة بهدف تبادل الخبرات العلمية وتنسيق التواصل العلمي في مجالات الفيزياء. ونتيجة لذلك فقد أثمرت تلك الجهود في ظهور عدد من البحوث الجيدة لأعضاء هيئة التدريس نشرت في مجلات عالمية مرموقة، كما يوجد هناك تعاون مثمر بين القسم وبين أقسام الفيزياء في بعض الجامعات المحلية والعالمية أثمر عن تعاون بحثي في مجال تبادل الخبرات من خلال عقد الندوات وورش العمل واللقاءات المتعلقة بتخصص الفيزياء. كما يشجع القسم الطلاب على تنمية مهاراتهم العلمية والبحثية وتطوير قدراتهم على الابتكار من خلال البحوث التي يجرونها في القسم والتي يتم مناقشتها في برنامج الندوات بالقسم.

 

ويحتوي القسم على عدد من المختبرات التعليمية التي تستخدم في تدريس الطلاب ويستفيد منها طلاب القسم وطلاب الجامعة من التخصصات الطبية والهندسية وغيرها.

ويضم القسم المختبرات التعليمية الآتية:

  1. مختبر الإلكترونيات

  2. مختبر الحرارة والميكانيكا

  3. مختبر الضوء

  4. مختبر الفيزياء الحديثة والذرية

  5. مختبر الفيزياء العامة

  6. مختبر الفيزياء النووية

  7. مختبر الكهرباء

  8. مختبر فيزياء الجوامد.

 

كما يضم القسم عدداً من المختبرات البحثية وهي:

  1. مختبر التحليل الحرارى والبنائي للمواد الصلبة

  2. مختبر القياسات الضوئية والكهروضوئية

  3. مختبر القياسات الكهربية

  4. مختبر المواد المتقدمة والإلكترونيات الضوئية

  5. مختبر تحضير العينات

  6. مختبر ترسيب الأغشية الرقيقة والتركيب النانوي.

 

إضافة إلى ذلك فإن القسم يحتوي على مركز للحاسب الآلي موصول بشبكة المعلومات كما أن هناك مركزاً للحاسب الآلي في كلية العلوم يستفيد منه الطلاب والباحثون. كما يوجد بالقسم مكتبة صغيرة تحوي عدداً من الكتب التخصصية والتي تكمل مكتبة الجامعة المركزية. إضافة إلى ذلك فقد تأسس في هذا القسم الجمعية السعودية للعلوم الفيزيائية والتي تجمع المهتمين بالعلوم الفيزيائية في المملكة العربية والسعودية والتي تسعى إلى تحقيق التواصل العلمي وتهيئة فرص التعاون العلمي والبحثي وعقد الندوات واللقاءات العلمية للجامعيين ومدرسي التعليم العام وذلك لتطوير كفاءة تعليم الفيزياء. بعد هذه الإطلالة السريعة على القسم وإمكانياته نأمل أن تجد في هذا الموقع معلومات مفيدة عن القسم وعن الدراسة الجامعية والعليا. مرة أخرى مرحباً ألف ونتمنى لكم وقتاً طيباً بين هذه الصفحات.

 

رئيس القسم