Overview

 

The Department of Chemistry was established in 1977 as a branch of the College of Education at King Saud University in Abha. In 1998, the two university branches in the Asir region, namely, the Imam Muhammad bin Saud Islamic University branch and King Saud University branch, were merged into one university called King Khalid University. Consequently, the College of Education at King Khalid University was renamed as the College of Science where Department of Chemistry was kept as one of its departments.

 

The Department of Chemistry offers two degrees for both male and female students, namely, Bachelor of Science and Master of Science. The Department of Chemistry includes four traditional branches, namely, Organic, Inorganic, Physical, and Analytical. The Department of Chemistry teaches a number of courses to students at the College of Pharmacy, College of Applied Medical Science, College of Engineering, and College of Humanities.

 

The Department of Chemistry qualifies the graduates with knowledge and professional skills, which are necessary for them to compete in a number of career fields in both the public and privet sectors. These career fields include Academic Field in Higher Education Institutes (public and privet), Industrial Field (Petroleum, Petrochemicals, Food, Medicine, and Water), Laboratories at Government and Privet Institutes (Military, Hospitals, and Schools).

 

The Department of Chemistry contains several teaching and research laboratories, which are well equipped with cutting-edge technological equipments. All these resources are used to train the students at both the undergraduate and the graduate levels, and to perform research projects by researchers and faculty members for the purpose of serving the community and contributing to the process of comprehensive development of the nation.

 

Department Chair

نبذة عن القسم

 

أنشئ قسم الكيمياء كأحد أقسام كلية التربية في العام 1397هـ (1977 م) والذي يتبع لفرع جامعة الملك سعود في أبها سابقا، وبعد دمج فرعي جامعة الإمام محمد بن سعود الإسلامية وجامعة الملك سعود بمنطقة عسير تحت مسمى جامعة الملك خالد في العام 1419هـ (1998 م) تحولت كلية التربية إلى كلية العلوم وأصبح قسم الكيمياء جزءاً منها.

 

يمنح قسم الكيمياء درجة بكالوريوس العلوم في الكيمياء للطلاب ودرجة ماجستير العلوم في الكيمياء للطلاب والطالبات. يحوي قسم الكيمياء أربعة فروع تضم العضوية وغير العضوية والفيزيائية والتحليلية. يقدم القسم عدداً من مقررات الكيمياء لبرامج أكاديمية في كلية الصيدلة وكلية العلوم الطبية التطبيقية وكلية الهندسة وكلية العلوم الإنسانية.

 

يؤهل قسم الكيمياء خريجيه بالمعارف والمهارات اللازمة للمنافسة في عدد من مجالات التوظيف في القطاعين العام والخاص والتي تضم المجال الأكاديمي في مؤسسات التعليم العالي بفرعيها العام والخاص، مجال الصناعة (كالصناعات البترولية والبتروكيميائية والغذائية والدوائية والمياه)، مختبرات المؤسسات الحكومية والخاصة مثل العسكرية والمستشفيات، التعليم قبل الجامعي.

 

يحوي القسم العديد من المعامل التدريسية والمختبرات البحثية المزودة بعدد من التقنيات المتطورة. تستغل هذه الإمكانيات لتدريب طلاب مرحلتي البكالوريوس والدراسات العليا، بالإضافة إلى تنفيذ المشاريع البحثية بواسطة الباحثين وأعضاء هيئة التدريس بما يهدف إلى خدمة المجتمع ويساهم في مسيرة التنمية الشاملة للوطن.

 

رئيس القسم